Team Race Championships

The first competitions for the Wood Trophy consisted of district All-Star teams that were principally made up from colleges that had gathered for the Dinghy Championship.  In 1977, a change was made so that each team in the championship was made up of individuals from only one college.  All colleges in the championship qualify through conference eliminations.

The championship must be sailed in two person dinghies 11 to 16 feet in length.  The format for this event is a series of round robins. In the first round all sixteen teams race each other once. This round determines places 9-14. The top eight teams then advance to a single round robin, which determines places 5-8. The top four remaining teams advance to a “final four” another single round to determine places 1-4.